Showing posts with label car vs. bike. Show all posts
Showing posts with label car vs. bike. Show all posts

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

I Played Bike vs. Car today....I lost.



I'm not actually even sure how many years I've been bike commuting on a daily basis.  Probably somewhere around 10 years.  In that time I've been pretty darn lucky and never actually been "hit" by a car (that resulted in me augering in).  That changed this morning.

Long story short.  I was riding East on Mill St. approaching Terminal Way.  Traffic was backed up as usual and I was passing cars who where moving less than 10 mph.  As I approached Terminal Way a truck decided he couldn't wait to get into the gas station and abruptly merged into the bike lane (and me).  I slid up his side panel hitting the passenger side door and took off his mirror with my left shoulder.  Then I stylishly executed a superman over the handle bars and stuck the dismount with the ever popular sliding right shoulder, rib, and hip "landing".  All and all a moderate "right hook" type situation.

Now before you worry too much...I'm ok.  Shoulder is sore (but I think, ok) and the ribs hurt.  A nice little addition to my road rash collection.  Like most folks who get hit, adrenaline was pumping and my first impression was to say I was fine and just get to work...  Instead, I just sat there for a few minutes and evaluated.  The guy who hit me was right there making sure I was ok, along with a few witnesses from the gas station.  They called 911 and ambulance and police were there in a few minutes.

I was mostly worried about unseen damage to my bike and making sure I had a collision report and insurance info from the guy.


So, here's what you get for your trouble.  I'm actually impressed that it says collision information rather than accident.  And for the record the ambulance folks were there and took vitals and offered to clean me up.  No push to go for treatment...but they did ask if I wanted to go to the hospital.  Super friendly and professional.  The same case for the RPD officers.  They took it seriously, knew that I was allowed to pass on the right because the bike lane is a legal travel lane.  Totally top notch performance and I want to give them props for that.

So yeah, that was my morning.  I think the bike is okay, with just cosmetic damage.  I'm okay, with hopefully just cosmetic damage.  My current biggest concern....how much this is gonna hurt me in the CrossReno cyclocross race this weekend! 

Monday, January 12, 2015

There are dead people in our streets.

http://www.rgj.com/story/news/2015/01/11/rgj-investigates-state-roads-deadly-pedestrians/21528149/
From RGJ.com....read the whole article by clicking.

Yeah, the title is a bit dire....but it's true.  We're knocking off pedestrians left and right and there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to it.  The question is how do we resolve the problem.  The short answer is there isn't an "answer" to this.  Everyone just needs to be more attentive (both drivers and pedestrians).  It's harder than it seems for both parties to actually make this work.

A pedestrian trying to cross the street at a marked cross walk that isn't at a corner with lights (think mid-town area trying to cross Virginia St.) might stand on the sidewalk waiting to cross for several minutes.  Technically, vehicles are supposed to stop when pedestrians are waiting.  However, the reality is (as drivers) we don't stop unless the pedestrian makes a move.  Often this is for legitimate reasons....a line of cars in front of us blocks our view of the waiting pedestrians, or the pedestrians don't look like they are sure they are crossing, or we didn't see them early enough to stop.  However, there are also many times I (as a pedestrian) have made direct eye contact with a driver while waiting in inclement weather and they just are going to bother to stop....because it's inconvenient and takes 30 seconds out of their day.   So both parties have to play the game.

The real answer is to be respectful to the other party (driver or pedestrian).  If you're driving....slow down and do the speed limit, remember you're wielding a multi-ton vehicle, keep an eye out for more vulnerable road users.  If you're walking....watch for traffic (it's your job too), cross quickly when you have to...don't amble along and make cars wait unnecessarily.  Both parties....hang up the damn phone. 

Anyway, if everyone pays a bit more attention, hopefully we can decrease the number of deaths in 2015.